Giving

Todays verses seem to be all about giving. Giving freely to those who need it, with no expectations of what this will gain me down the road.

We’ve all heard this right, its better to give than receive, what comes around goes around, and miraculously there it is right in the Bible.

I don’t think I always knew how to give or what to give, I barely had enough to get through the day, how was I suppose to give? If I did give, it wasn’t freely, there was always the expectation that I’ll get something in return.

The reality is, we all have something to give.

“But I don’t have money” so, give your attention, listen to someone, give your time, a hug, a smile, a compliment, words of encouragement, a shoulder to lean on, etc. There are all kinds of ways that we can give to others that are in need.

Need isn’t always money. Sometimes people (even the richest people you know) just need someone to be there for them, for whatever they may be struggling with in their lives.

Money is not always the answer to everyones problems. If someone doesn’t feel good about something in their life, money isn’t going to help that.

Sometimes, it is money. Someone can’t pay a bill, their car breaks down, something has happened and an unforeseen cost has popped up. If we can help that person, help them.

Like I said, I’m not rich, so, I understand the choice between the electric bill and groceries. There have been times where I saw a person struggle, and then I would struggle about whether to help them because I needed the money too. And it never failed that if someone needed $5.00 and I gave them the $5.00, I would need that $5.00 and think to myself, see if you hadn’t given them that money you would have it now.

The more verses I read, it helped me realize that, yes, I was giving but not giving without regret or expectations. It was hard, and it certainly didn’t happen overnight but as soon as I started giving freely, I started receiving freely.

I started looking around asking, where is all this coming from and why? Again, the more verses I read, I realized, I was reaping what sowed.

The best gift of course, is just loving everyone.

An ounce of love goes a long way. If we could love everyone we meet, this world would improve.

If we can’t love everyone we meet then just don’t hate them, and move along. Try not to wish them ill, argue, judge or condemn them.

Try to see God in that person.

While they are doing whatever it is that is making you not feel love for them, (to yourself) say a prayer for them, bless them and move along.

You will be surprised with the results.

The results it has on you, and you might be surprised at the results it has on them. One thing’s for certain, you will leave that encounter feeling positive, and happy, instead of irritated and angry.

In that respect, you are giving not only to that person(even though they don’t know it), and you are reaping what you sowed.

Author: Margaret from soulfood101blog

Praying the world will read God's Word for themselves, and not rely on what someone else tells them His Word says or means.

Leave your comments here. Sometimes comments get marked as spam, and deleted. I don't know why. If you don't see your comment within 48 hours click the contact tab and send me a message. Thanks!

