It’s Hard

Today while I was reading and typing up the verses to post, the realization hit me that, more times than not, these verses step all over my toes, as the old expression goes.

God always finds a way to point out, to me, right where I am struggling, and what I need to do to fix it, and help me on the journey to be the person that He wants me to be. I mean, I want to be good, be kind, be tenderhearted, be forgiving.

Key words there “want to be”  but just because I want to be, doesn’t mean that is what I end up being. 

It’s hard when, you feel, you have been wronged, or that someone has hurt your feelings, taken advantage of you, whatever the case may be, to just be kind and forgive them.

To be nice, to not defend yourself, or lash out and do what you feel would equal the score, so to speak.

But if we pause for a moment and give inventory to ALL the things we have done in our lives to offend or hurt others, and yet God forgave us those trespasses.

Then why do we get so mad, angry, upset, etc, when someone comes along and hurts or angers us? What is the saying about shoe being on the other foot?

The more I read my Bible, the more I find that I don’t get so hurt or angry.

It would be a lie to say that I don’t get hurt or angry because I do, sometimes daily but more and more it’s not as severe, or volatile, or long-lasting. I have done wrong things in my life, wronged others, myself, and to probably people that I didn’t even realize I was hurting, and yet God loves me and forgave me.

He only wants me to do the same for others. He wants us to show everyone in this world, all our brothers and sisters through Him, the same love and forgiveness that he has shown us.

Forgiving trespasses that we feel someone has committed against us, not only helps us, it helps the person that we feel hurt us. Forgiving keeps you happy, succeeding,  and growing. It allows you to focus on the good things that you have in your life and not the little things that, in the long run, really don’t matter.

We can’t control what people do to us, but one thing is for sure, we can control how we react to it, and the control we let it have on us. In doing so we share the love and forgiving that God has given to us.

Author: Margaret from soulfood101blog

Praying the world will read God's Word for themselves, and not rely on what someone else tells them His Word says or means.

11 thoughts on “It’s Hard”

  1. Great post, and so true. It is hard to do what God wants us to do, but the minute we do it, the next time it becomes easier. So at some point you must have done what God wanted you to do, because you say that it’s getting easier…..I find that’s how it is when we follow God. It’s difficult at times, but if we in spite of ourselves do as He wants us to….that’s when the “break through” come.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is so true. I am amazed at His grace and how much easier things in my life are now. The more I learn from Him and give all of me over to Him the easier it gets. I am not all the way there, I don’t know if we truly ever get all the way there but I am trying and it sure has made a huge difference in my life. Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to share your insight with me :) God Bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I struggle with forgiveness all the time – both that of others, as well as myself. It’s so easy to hold onto things because we’re such negative beings, but there’s also such a feeling of release once we do forgive someone. It’s definitely a good thing to remember whenever I’m holding a grudge against anyone: God forgave me, so I should forgive them. It’s something I forget so often.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. :) It’s because you are human and what I like to call “fleshy” lol…God doesn’t expect you to be perfect Maggie, or He would have made you that way :) The key is that you realize that forgiving is what God wants you to do, and you try do it :) You just keep trying, He will help you get there.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave your comments here. Sometimes comments get marked as spam, and deleted. I don't know why. If you don't see your comment within 48 hours click the contact tab and send me a message. Thanks!

