A Slippery slope

It’s miraculous how God puts things into focus, if we let Him and are willing to see. I did something yesterday that I haven’t done in a long while.

I took credit for something instead of giving the credit to God.

I wrote a poem, that without Him would never have even entered into my heart or mind. Someone, whose poetry I admire, gave me a compliment on the poem. I immediately got all fleshy and received the praise, not even once thanking the Lord for not only giving me those words but inspiring the whole thing.

How does this happen? My mom tells me almost daily, “Honey you always give God the praise.” I always try to, and yet here I sat last night, taking all the credit.

I soaked up the compliments, which I truly and wholeheartedly did appreciate, walked away from the computer, and immediately started getting that feeling.

That inner feeling of something isn’t right. I’ve done something wrong.

What could it possibly be? The poem kept coming to my mind. Lord, what is it? Was I not suppose to post it? I felt You all the way, what is it?

The words I kept saying, thanking that person, kept repeating in my mind. But what was wrong with that? I was thankful. I was happy someone liked it. I was proud….oh wait, now I see.

Not once while I was being thankful, did I give God the credit. It was “me” and not where the praise should be and that was with “Him”.

He put those words in my head. He composed that piece of poetry that I was more than happy to take credit for and not once did I say, “But if not for Him.”

Some of you reading this might think, this is a little thing. I don’t think it is.

God has given me everything. He is the reason I am, and will be. I have to give Him the praise He deserves in everything, not just the big things, but in all things.

One little thing leads to another, and to another….

It’s a very slippery slope.

 

 

 

Author: Margaret from soulfood101blog

Praying the world will read God's Word for themselves, and not rely on what someone else tells them His Word says or means.

6 thoughts on “A Slippery slope”

Leave your comments here. Sometimes comments get marked as spam, and deleted. I don't know why. If you don't see your comment within 48 hours click the contact tab and send me a message. Thanks!

